Houston240sx.com Forums  
Enjuku Racing

Go Back   Houston240sx.com Forums > Houston240sx.com > General 240SX Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2015, 06:07 PM   #1
integra1
Registered User
 
integra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spring tx
Posts: 400
integra1 probable wing man
Help with fuse

Does anybody know if a fuel pump relay would cause the fuel pump fuse to get hot and melt. I checked for short can't find anything. I can drive the car but the fuse get hot and melts after a while it does not blow the fuse but melts it. It's an sr20det. Thanks for looking.
__________________
integra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 11:22 PM   #2
SnafuPossum
ButtSecksMod
 
SnafuPossum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tomball
Posts: 6,805
SnafuPossum probable wing man
sounds like a bad ground if it is heating up like that. Relay just sends power to it from the battery, it doesnt do any kind of voltage regulation, it is just simply a on and off switch.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedstarDriver View Post
Mike, what percentile did you graduate in from high school?
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuntmanmike View Post
i swcored top 3% of dropouts
SnafuPossum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 11:27 PM   #3
integra1
Registered User
 
integra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spring tx
Posts: 400
integra1 probable wing man
Hmmm my relay get hot too but not real hot like the fuse
__________________
integra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 06:35 AM   #4
PacS14
Kouki Daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 413
PacS14 probable wing man
Worst case you probably have a short somewhere, bad ground, or all of the obove, even bad fuses since they should be getting burnt before melting.
PacS14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 08:07 AM   #5
ck240sx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: northside of houston
Posts: 1,176
ck240sx probable wing man
I know your fuse is the part that melting but I had a similar problem before where my efan relay kept melting. Turned out my power and ground wires were different sizes. I replaced both with the same gauge wire and fixed my problem
ck240sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 08:59 AM   #6
integra1
Registered User
 
integra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spring tx
Posts: 400
integra1 probable wing man
Was that hard to do?
__________________
integra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 09:11 AM   #7
gregman
ファックユー
 
gregman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south Houston
Posts: 1,636
gregman probable wing man
if your battery is in the trunk you should look into putting your fuel pump on its own relay, so you can fix this problem and have constant voltage to your fuel pump at all times.
gregman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 09:13 AM   #8
integra1
Registered User
 
integra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spring tx
Posts: 400
integra1 probable wing man
Dang I wish I knew how to do this.
__________________
integra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 11:37 AM   #9
gregman
ファックユー
 
gregman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south Houston
Posts: 1,636
gregman probable wing man
it is super simple it took me less then 20mins.
you need a fuse block a relay and some 16g wire.
find you 12v source at the pump and put a relay in it and wire it straight to your battery post..
gregman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 12:10 PM   #10
integra1
Registered User
 
integra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spring tx
Posts: 400
integra1 probable wing man
Can I use the relay that's under the hood compartment under the air filter the one that says fuel relay?
__________________
integra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 12:30 PM   #11
gregman
ファックユー
 
gregman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south Houston
Posts: 1,636
gregman probable wing man
The problem with doing that is that the relay is really old.
It is best to buy a new one, You can get them for $5 at the parts store.
The reason for putting your fuel pump on its own relay is because after 20 so years the stock relay starts to lose voltage wile you are putting the car under a load.
There are so many other accessory that tie into that fuse box, that after time the wires become weak and crack, that can start to short out or have ground issue problem.
witch is what it sounds like is going on with your car.
If you are not sure how to wire up the relay just ask and i can take pictures and walk you trough it.
It really is simple.
gregman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 12:35 PM   #12
integra1
Registered User
 
integra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spring tx
Posts: 400
integra1 probable wing man
That will be appreciated bro thanks. So all this eliminate tracing the fuel pump wires and all that right. And the relay in the hood will no longer be active as well right.
__________________
integra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 01:13 PM   #13
gregman
ファックユー
 
gregman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south Houston
Posts: 1,636
gregman probable wing man
yes that is correct.
you will be running a constant 12v to your fuel pump instead of going trough the stock relay.
gregman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Gulli Theme By M@TR1XC0D3