Houston240sx.com Forums  
Enjuku Racing

Go Back   Houston240sx.com Forums > Houston240sx.com > Tech Discussion > Engine Performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2008, 05:07 PM   #1
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
bad throttle response?

whenever i mash the gas it gets quiet for a good second then you can hear the engine rev up. when i feather the gas it has direct response. (this is when the car is just sitting. i havent really drove it since i have no tags or insurance) i figured that it was the tps but i replaced it with a brand new one from autozone but i still have the same problem. so waht do i need to fix this problem. tia

EDIT: my engine is a S13 SR20DET (sorry forgot to put this in)

Last edited by riceman; 03-27-2008 at 12:10 AM.
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 05:41 PM   #2
first240sx
Registered User
 
first240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: houston
Posts: 539
first240sx probable wing man
check your maf
__________________
first240sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 05:56 PM   #3
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
my mafs was brand new from 786 and my vac lines were also done there so i doubt that would be it.
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 06:06 PM   #4
crzycav86
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Missouri City
Posts: 4,841
crzycav86 watch out ebay
what engine? turbo or NA? stock engine management?
crzycav86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 06:52 PM   #5
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
sorry i forgot to put that in. its a stock s13 sr20det

Last edited by riceman; 03-25-2008 at 07:54 PM.
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 07:55 PM   #6
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
also when i am driving it dies occasionally when i release the gas while in gear
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:11 AM   #7
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
anyone? please help
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:45 AM   #8
madman's240
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: corpus christi tx / tomball tx
Posts: 2,872
madman's240 probable wing man
sounds like a bad vac leak my de did the same thing because a vac leak
madman's240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 03:40 PM   #9
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
how do i check for leaks? i checked all my couplers on my IC piping but they all seem to be ok. what else can i do? also i changed my TPS sensor thinking that was the problem but it wasnt. TIA
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 03:55 PM   #10
guitardave06
z0rz
 
guitardave06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: The Sticks, Tx
Posts: 1,481
guitardave06 probable wing man
check all of your vacuume lines, there are lines on your wastegate and intake manifold. check those.
__________________
UNOFFICIAL STICKS MEMBER #0.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by riceman View Post
my mafs was brand new from 786 and my vac lines were also done there so i doubt that would be it.
Lol!

Getting the funds together for another S-14
guitardave06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 05:33 PM   #11
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
i checked those too but i think ill check again more thoroughly
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 06:01 PM   #12
crzycav86
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Missouri City
Posts: 4,841
crzycav86 watch out ebay
unplug your maf, then start up the car. see if it idles and revs better. if it does, it's a vacuum leak or your maf is bad. i say this so much it should probably be put in my sig.

sorry for not helping earlier. it looks like it's been a month..
crzycav86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 07:13 PM   #13
kasonb
Reppin' BFE
 
kasonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: ATX
Posts: 437
kasonb probable wing man
did you time the engine? (assuming this is a fresh swap)
__________________
"The Nissan 240sx. It's alot of sportscar, but you can handle it."
kasonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 07:14 PM   #14
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
yeah i got a bit preoccupied and forgot about it until i slapped some se7 on them and did a test drive. ill check it out when i get home tonight and keep yall updated
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 09:11 PM   #15
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man



would any of these cause my my car to die after accelerating?
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 09:16 PM   #16
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 09:18 PM   #17
jackasspyro2
I fuck cats
 
jackasspyro2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Space
Posts: 1
jackasspyro2 Its up in the air
Quote:
Originally Posted by riceman View Post



would any of these cause my my car to die after accelerating?
well iuno that much about sr's.....buUut the one to the throttle body would cause u a vacuum leak so ya that would cause it to die during deceleration...and the bottom one is i think part of ur evap system and at the very least i would cap it off...i mean the part of the bottom pic is a stock 240 part(right) well it (from the pics) doesnt seem to have the 3 vacuum slots under the throttle body(thats where those hoses go)
jackasspyro2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 09:19 PM   #18
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
Explanation:

there was one vacc line underneath the intake pipe on the throttle body as seen on the top pic that was just hang'n there and couldnt find anything that it connected to so i just stuck a screw in there. the second picture there was 2 empty spots ont he oil catch can thing? waht is that? and lastly there is nothing conntected to the big T thas connected to my valve cover.
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 09:24 PM   #19
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackasspyro2 View Post
well iuno that much about sr's.....buUut the one to the throttle body would cause u a vacuum leak so ya that would cause it to die during deceleration...and the bottom one is i think part of ur evap system and at the very least i would cap it off...i mean the part of the bottom pic is a stock 240 part(right) well it (from the pics) doesnt seem to have the 3 vacuum slots under the throttle body(thats where those hoses go)
yeah it was a stock ka part and it use to be connected (i think. . . im pretty sure it was) but 786 changed all my vacs so i didnt think it was too important since they fixed my car but i have to ask anyways since i have this small problem. and i plugged that vac line thats on the bottom of my throttle body with a screw. its a bit hard to see in that pic though
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 09:36 PM   #20
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
damn i need to clean my engine a bit
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 10:52 PM   #21
jackasspyro2
I fuck cats
 
jackasspyro2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Space
Posts: 1
jackasspyro2 Its up in the air
ya than that thing is part of the evap system u dont really need it for the kar to run its just to bleed of pressure in ur gas tank...and u cant tell that there is a screw there in the pics cuz the pic is blurry...hmm so u shoved a screw in it and it still has a leak..my guess would be find out wat that goes to..wit the stock ka there is a line from the evap that goes around there and its realy short but t's off to the intake...so iuno maybe the sr is the same way
jackasspyro2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 11:03 AM   #22
nt66
hachislowku
 
nt66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: houston
Posts: 884
nt66 probable wing man
how did you set the tps I know on most cars you have to adjust them a certain way you cant just swap them out
nt66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 05:42 PM   #23
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
Quote:
Originally Posted by kasonb View Post
did you time the engine? (assuming this is a fresh swap)
you know i never did check the timing. i just dont know how and wouldne know what im doing.
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 05:46 PM   #24
riceman
Bottom_Line
 
riceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NW houston
Posts: 471
riceman probable wing man
Quote:
Originally Posted by nt66 View Post
how did you set the tps I know on most cars you have to adjust them a certain way you cant just swap them out
really? hmm...when i installed it i made sure it had direct contact with the throttle position thing? i guess il take a pic of it but i dont think i installed it incorrectly but just in case can you tell me a little more of how it needs to be adjusted?
riceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 06:34 AM   #25
nt66
hachislowku
 
nt66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: houston
Posts: 884
nt66 probable wing man
I dont know how it is on a 240 but on a 4ag there are two screws that hold the tps on and you can rotate the tps a little bit when these screws a loose I dont remember the exact procedure but it involves rotating the tps while the car is running.
nt66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Gulli Theme By M@TR1XC0D3